All Topics / Finance / refinance for IP

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of specialonespecialone
    @specialone

Hello all,

I am new to the investment game but learning lots from this site thanks!

Anyway I have had a proposal put to me regarding refinancing my PPOR and using the equity plus savings to purchase an IP. The PPOR is  only 4 months old value 400k has about 17% equity. 

The idea is to refinance with a line of credit to 90% on my PPOR use the 25k from this along with my 35k savings to purchase a new IP off the plan. The IP would be 90% mortgage again using a line of credit. Both would be interest only and offset accounts (I think so may stand corrected on this) so I have 10 to 15k as a buffer if needed.

My question is does this sound a good idea? I know I have LMI to consider plus the cost of closing the mortgage early but the broker seems to know what they are talking about.  Put it like this would any of you do this to get started?

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated

Nick

Profile photo of Marty McDonaldMarty McDonald
    Participant
    @marty-mcdonald

Hi Nick,

It probably would be feasible however as a risk V reward I wouldn't buy off the plan with your equity levels. If the market has even a small downturn between when you exchange and when you need to settle you may be left with an LVR that is unacceptable ie over 90%.True there are some lenders who will go to over 90% (up to 95% max) for investment but only a few…so what happens if that changes and or you don't qualify with those lenders at the time you need the loan.

You also have the valuation risk that the valuer thinks you paid too much or that they think the whole complex is over valued as compared to others in the area. Again LVR issue comes into play.

I think that you need to have at least 20%- 25% equity before buying off plan…but just my opinion.

If it wasnt off plan then I would say go for it as you can control the financing risk.

Cheers