All Topics / Help Needed! / Setting up separate loans for security?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of BayerBayer
    Participant
    @bayer

Hi,
    Speaking to my accountant the other day, I asked whether when we are ready to buy an IP if we should set up a trust to protect our PPOR. He advised that unless we were running a business that it wasn't really necessary, that an alternative was to set up each loan with a different bank. I understand that if we for some reason had the bank come after us, they only have rights to the property with the loan registered to them (please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm still learning). However if someone wanted to sue us for what ever reason they are still able to go after all the properties regardless of how the loans are set up, wheres a trust would protect the IP? Can someone spread a bit more light on this and let me know if I have this correct.
    Thanks

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Your sort of correct.

If you use a house as security and default on the loan the lender can take repossession and then sell the house to cover the loan taken out. However, if you default on a loan and the bank repossess the house and sell it and there is still a shortfall the bank will then sue you and if they win they can still go after any house even if have houses at different banks with different and separate loans this. If just takes a bit longer as there is a bit more to it.

Using a trust means that the properties are not yours so they will not be easily able to take the trust property. However if they bankrupt you they may start looking at your relationship with the trusts – did you gift money to it, or loan money to it. If you did then they may be able to sue the trustee to get the money back in certain cases. But it is still added protection as it takes a lot of legal work and time to do this and it may not even happen.