All Topics / Help Needed! / Looking ahead…

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of matt_decatmatt_decat
    Participant
    @matt_decat

Alright, I have just bought my first property and I am already looking at the next step(s) that i should be taking.  I just bought a townhouse in cragieburn as a house and land package for around 320-330k.  Whilst this is not a type of house or area i would like to be investing in, I am doing so because I was offered the land for 60k less than what the land accross the road went for as a family member who is a builder sold it to me for what he paid for it on the condition i get him to build the house.  The house is a modern, 3 bedroom townhouse, with a detached 2 car garage on a corner block.  With the town centre expected to start construction at some point next year, i see that it will be stupid for me to sell as soon as possible.

because i am a uni student, i am was unable to get a loan of any sort in my name, because nobody can trust a 21y.o uni student who works part time to make the repayments.  Because of this, in order to get the money, my parents took out a LOC in their name, which I am to pay off. once the house has been completed, i will be paying $400/week in interest.

as for tennants, my cousin has been approached by a company asking to use a house as an office, and if they decide to pick mine, the expected rent will be hopefully $400/week.  If this doesnt eventuate, I will use my FHOG and have the house as my PPOR for 6 months, and then rent it out, possibly for only $350/week.