All Topics / Help Needed! / Assistance with property portfolio

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of amylangfordamylangford
    Participant
    @amylangford

Hi everyone,

My partner and I have recently purchased a second investment property. We have been advised by our accountant to set this up in a Trust  (which we already have set up). Specifically a discretionary trust.

About 4 years ago I purchased my first investment property which is in my name only. We are now using the equity in this property aswell as personal savings to make this new investment.

We are not planning on having kids yet but may in the years to come. We are currently renting and are not looking to purchase our own home as we are more looking to creating financial independence for the future. Both of us are working. My partner has his own business and I am a teacher. Our goal is to continue to build a property portfolio.

What would be the best avenue for us to replicate the above process and what are your thoughts on having this second investment in a Trust?
    Should we look to positively gear the investment properties so that they can fund themselves and build more equity. Especially, considering the lack of tax gains under the Trust set up.

Thanks,

Amy

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Amy

Firstly welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time with us.

Structure in regards to the loan set up and entity used to purchase is probably the most common question we get asked from clients and to be honest there is no shoe fits all approach.

There are so many variable it is not funny.

I must admit i own all of our properties in a series of Discretionary Trusts and agree with your Accountant over the entity however there are other factors to consider.

You mention you are using some of your own savings to defray the purchase price and certainly wouldnt recommend this unless it is an absolute must.