All Topics / Help Needed! / Hey newbie here, can someone show me the holes in my plan it seems to good to be true

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of young nyoung n
    Participant
    @young-n

I AM VERY INTERESTED IN BEGINING A PROPERTY PORTFOLIO. I CURRANTLY HAVE A DEPOSIT OF 300000, WHICH I INHERITED FROM MY FATHER. IT IS CURRANTLY IN MY MOTHERS ACCOUNTS, AND SHE WILL PAY THIS ONTO PROPERTY, TO AVOID GIFT TAX.
     I LIVE IN DARWIN, AND HAVE FOUND A 2 BED ROOM UNIT FOR SALE, IN STUART PARK FOR $485000. THIS PROPERTY CURRANTLY GETS A RENT OF $595 PER WEEK.
    THERE IS ALSO AN OFFICE BLOCK FOR SALE WHICH IS $280000 AND TAKES IN JUST OVER $500 PER WEEK.
     MY PLAN IS TO BUY THE OFFICE BLOCK OUTRIGHT, THEN PUT THE REMAINING $20000 AND EQUITY OF MY HOME DOWN AS DEPOSIT, AND GET A LOAN FOR THE REMAINING $465000 FOR THE UNIT. EFFECTIVELY I WILL HAVE A LOAN FOR $460000 AND AN INCOME OF AROUND 1100 DOLLERS FROM BOTH PROPERTIES RENT.
    THE INTEREST ON THE LOAN WOULD BE $465000 X 8% = 37200 THE GROSS INCOME OF THE PROPERTY WOULD BE 1100 * 52 = $57200 THIS IS A NET PROFIT OF 20000. I REALISE SOME OF THIS WOULD BE EATEN UP IN BODY CORPORATE FEES AND RATES ETC, BUT IT STILL SEEMS LIKE A VERY HIGHLY POSITIVELY GEARED INVESTMENT. MY MOTHER IS SKEPTICAL AND THINKS I MUST BE MISSING SOMETHING. BUT I CANT FIGURE OUT WHAT. CAN ANYONE SEE HOLES IN MY PLAN? AS MY I CAN'T SECURE A LOAN ON MY OWN INCOME DUE TO BEING ONLY A CASUAL EMPLOYEE FOR 2 MONTHS AT MY CURRANT JOB, SHE WOULD HAVE TO HELP ME GET THE LOAN. SHE FEARS ILL BE TOO FAR IN DEBT AND IT WILL COME BACK TO BITE HER. CAN ANY BODY SHOW ME THE HOLES IN THIS PLAN, AND OR ANY OTHER RELEVANT FEED BACK. AM I JUST YOUNG N DUMB OR CAN I MAKE THIS WORK?

Profile photo of scottsscotts
    @scotts

caps is considered shouting….. its also hard to read…
    if you want some decent responses i'd suggest editing your post and removing the caps.

Profile photo of IP FreelyIP Freely
    @ip-freely