All Topics / Help Needed! / Redrawing from Investment Property Loan

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of markhall1980markhall1980
    @markhall1980

Hi,

Whats the deal with re-draw from an investment property loan. Some people have told me you cant. My broker said I can? I'm confused

The property is currently my PPoR, and I've paid off about $35k but I'm wanting to go back to university this year to study which means re-locating interstate and therefore my current property will become an investment property and I'll rent it out, and i'll rent for the next 3-4 years whilst studying.

I have had a free re-draw facility on this loan and was relying on having access to this $35k whilst i'm a student for expenses austudy wont cover, until someone told me that you cant re-draw from an investment property.

Does anyone know if u can re-draw from an investment property like this, or what the implications are?

Maybe someone can clarify things, or suggest a way to have access to the money I've paid off the loan and still have it reducing my interest on the loan. I'm looking at offset accounts etc, but don't want to pay break costs and stuff if its actually not neccessary

Hope someone can help

thanks in advance

Profile photo of BankerBanker
    Participant
    @banker

You can redraw but that portion of the loan is only deductable if redraw is for business or investment use.

E.g. If you pay extra and then redraw 20k for a holiday. That 20k is not deductable. Offset is better.

Profile photo of markhall1980markhall1980
    @markhall1980

So its not actually illegal from a tax point of view to re-draw, but just that the amount you redraw is not tax deductible? So why is offset better? If in your example you use 20k for a holiday from an offset account, how does that differ?

Profile photo of BankerBanker
    Participant
    @banker