All Topics / Help Needed! / Using equity to build IP…

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of SteraStera
    Participant
    @stera

Hi all,

My partner and I are in our late 20's and have recently completed building our PPOR and estimate the value to be around the $600k figure (based on similar sales in the street and suburb) and have a plain jane mortgage remaining of around $200k.
    Therefore, I imagine that we have 'equity' of around $400k in our home (correct me if I am wrong – Im still learning  )!

Now, I am entertaining the idea of doing the process again, but for an investment!

I have found a block of land (approx. 400sqm & 270k) and an actual house to build (approx. $170k, not a Villa – An actual 4 bedroom house (21sq), which I think is a point of difference for the area and why the value when completed will be higher than a Villa for comparison.

Based on sales information that I simple obtain from OFI and RE.com.au data, I anticipate a sale in excess of $530k in todays market and would settle for a return (yeild) of 10% in my pocket.

The slight hurdle at this stage will be financing the project over the 12-15 months of construction and the related taxes.

I am completely green (  Learners hat again)! and would appreicaite any feedback or suggestions.

My understanding of the biggest hit is CGT, but my understanding is that if you hold the property for 12 months from contract to contract, CGT reduces from 50% to 25%. My question is what are the "contracts"? Is it when you purchase land, sign to build, or get hand over?

I would also look at finance options as if I stick to the plain jane mortgage like I am on, repayments are likely to double or triple and this isnt sustainable, but am open to any possible allowable deductions during construction to reduce costs.

So yes, is it all as easy as it sounds in my peachy dreams?!

Profile photo of SteraStera
    Participant
    @stera
    Profile photo of binscabbinscab