All Topics / Help Needed! / Keen newbie needing some expert advice on buying units

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of starbudstarbud
    @starbud

Hi all,

This may be a very vague and simple question, but I am very new to this and learning a lot along the way.  My husband and I are very keen to get into this PI scene, but only have $20K deposit but no loans or prior debt hanging over our heads.
    We are desperate to get into our own home asap, but I am more interested in getting our property portfolio off to a good start and if that means going into another unit first then so be it! As Steve says, how many years does it take you to save up for the inital deposit  – so I dont want to waste this one we have.

We've been looking (we live on the Gold Coast unfortunatley) and will probably only be able to afford a unit/townhouse taking into account we want it to be a positive net cashflow property hopefully in a high growth area.

What I want to know is how much is too much to pay in body corp fees (I am tight and having to give away $15 extra is going to kill me!)?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Profile photo of DDDD
    @dd

If you want cashflow and growth immediately you really are a dreamer. Units by nature incur body corp fees. To avoid these you need to find a duplex 2 bedder and hope the other half is the guy that owns it so there is no body corp fees. apart from that avoid pools, tennis courts, and onsite managers like the plague and you can find reasonable body corp fees.

Does it have to be the gold coast?? Is this a work related location or can you move?? Would something in the Logan area give you a 45 minute bearable trip to the GC as well as a 25 minute drive to the brizzy cbd. Many in this area have a $1200/yr or less body corp fee which in this day and age is great.