All Topics / Commercial Property / 9.7% nett in rural area

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of buyersellerbuyerseller
    Participant
    @buyerseller

Hi all,

I am new to investing in commercial property (I’ll bet you’ve heard that one before). I have just found a commercial property for sale for $300,000 – nett annual return $30,000. I’ve contacted the agent and the only cost relevant to the owner is insurance at $1,000 p.a.

The rural town this property is located in has a population of over 5000 in the town and 15,000 in the general area (this figure also includes 2 other smaller towns). There are also a couple of housing estates “happening” in the area.

The tenant (a “no name” physiotherapy) signed a 5 year lease in Sep ’09.

So I guess, thought? Comments? Suggestions? VERY open to any feedback.

Profile photo of god_of_moneygod_of_money
    Participant
    @god_of_money

seems expensive commercial property in town of 5000
    you probably can get a house with yield 9-10% in 5000 population

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

Rates of return on commercial property vary widely ie I'd be expecting around 12-13%+ net for rural industrial property whereas it would be slightly less for retail (9-10%+) and somewhere inbetween for office space.

You will need to pay some consideration to the size of the property (nett lettable area) and hence the net rent $/m2. If the rate looks high, it is probably unsustainable (something stinks), if the land value looks high (after deducting the building cost), something stinks.

Do your thorough due diligence.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

What happens if the physio goes bankrupt and you cannot find a new tenant? Rural towns are very risky.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me