All Topics / Creative Investing / Creating an investment portfolio using equity

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of StevePerryStevePerry
    @steveperry

I keep hearing people talking about how they have created an investment portfolio by using existing equity.

I am pretty new to this, and I am not quite sure how I could do this.

I bought an investment property 5 years ago and I would like to either buy my home or buy another investment property.

Could somebody explain to me how I could use the existing equity to purchase a new property, and whether it’s better to buy an investment property or my own home, from a tax perspective?

Also, does it make much of a difference if the place is brand new?

Lets come on discussion on iProPertyCo:: http://www.ipropertyco.com/Forum/topic46-creating-an-investment-portfolio-using-equity.aspx

Profile photo of Ryan McLeanRyan McLean
    Participant
    @ryan-mclean

Firstly, you can’t ask what would be better from a tax perspective without giving detail. If you are buying for growth the PPOR might be better for tax reasons because you can get a discount on the capital gains tax, if you are buying to hold an IP might be better because you can claim more things on tax. It depends on your situation.

I never invest for tax reasons only. I seems stupid to invest so I can lose a dollar and get 30 cents back. It is fools who invest only for tax reasons. I invest to make money first…then I look at how to best minimise my tax.

Here is how I understand equity works.

Say you own a $100,000 property and you owe $50,000 on the mortgage. You effectively have $50,000 of equity (or you could say ownership) of the property. The banks will lend you 80% of the properties value. So in this case they might lend you a total of $80,000.
    In the case that you already have a $50,000 mortgage you will be able to borrow a further $30,000 ($50,000+$30,000=$80,000=80%)