All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice for a 19yr old

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of pashabulker1pashabulker1
    @pashabulker1

Hi everyone,

I am 19 years old and have almost finished my first year as an electrical apprentice. I am living at home with the parentals and will be doing so for the next three years until I finish the apprenticeship.

With all my savings added together I am worth an amazing $20,000.00!!!! Now by the end of the apprenticeship I will easily have a fifty thousand dollar deposit for an investment property. My parents are also willing to give me $100,000.00 in addition to my own deposit. Could this be split into two investment properties??

Once I am a qualified electrician I’ll be earning approximately $50k a year before tax.

I am living in Adelaide, so I will be looking at purchasing a house/unit around the $300k.

My investing goal is to be financially free asap, meaning I don’t have to ‘work’, rather manage my investments. This could mean renovating full time once I have sufficient cashflow from my property portfolio.

How does this all sound? I guess I am looking for advice/guidance about this little plan I have and if it is at all feasible!

I am thinking of purchasing positive cashflow properties (or near to positive as possible).
    Should I buy one IP and hit the mortgage as hard as a can or buy two.

Any comments/advice would be appreciated.
    Cheers!

Profile photo of climbingjacclimbingjac
    Participant
    @climbingjac

Hi!

You are probably eligible for the First Home Owner Grant as well.

Remember you'll be up for stamp duty and legal fees … basically allow 5% of the property price for this (so about $15k for a $300k property).