All Topics / Help Needed! / New Loan Contract Signed – Are these legitimate concerns ??

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of dnh83dnh83
    @dnh83

Hi All,

I'm wanting to know your thoughts on a new Loan i've had the bank draw up for me…some of it doesn't feel right and given I'm new to dealing with banks I'm wondering if I'm being burnt…

Apologies up front for the length of this post, I want to provide the detail needed to assist with responses…

My Current Situation:
    –  NAB Choice Package
    –  $200k P&I Loan (started banking with NAB in March this year)
    –  Property Purchase Price $225k
    –  Reno Expenses so far $20k (Kitchen, Bathroom, Electrics, Gas/Water Plumbing, + misc work)
    –  Reno not yet finished, therefore not in a state for new 'revaluation' and has only been revalued at purchase price ($225k)
    –  New IO Loan of $50k requested to assist with Sub-Division and External Reno's

The additional $50k has been approved and today I went in to complete the paper work (servicing the additional loan is not a problem). 

I was initially shocked to be told there would be a $700 establishment fee due to it being a business loan not a personal loan.  I agreed to accept this and moved through the contract.  I was then told that the interest rate would be 8.8% rather than the 5.8% i'm paying for my home loan.  Seem's like my Choice Package doesn't cover as much as I thought !!

When I weighed it up, I needed the loan ASAP to progress with my sub-division so I accepted their conditions (I've got some large Sub-Division bills due early Jan)…they basically had me by the balls and knew I needed the cash anyway…(plus i'm new to banking with them and I know I need to prove my worth).

Here's the catch that has raised some of my concerns…after speaking to my bank managers associate, a little more information came through…