All Topics / Help Needed! / Buy 1 property with more equity – or buy 2 with less?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Les PaulLes Paul
    @les-paul

Hi,
    I am new to property investing. In fact I have not even started so I have no idea about it as yet and am after all the advice I can get.

I own my Sydney home outright (no mortgage) and it is valued at $650,000. I have earnt a relatively large lump sum of money and would like to invest it in property. The amount of money is enough to buy about 3/4 of a nice sized villa in Sydneys east. I would rent it out to pay of the remainder.

My question is, Is there any tax benefits or other benefits in using the money to buy 2 or 3 propertys, instead of 1, with the intention of renting them out. Obviously I will have less equity in each and have to loan more money, but I thought there may be other benefits to it that I do not know of.   

Thank you

Profile photo of KennyjaizKennyjaiz
    @kennyjaiz

Les Paul,

This will depend on your circumstance and your objectives.
    If you are looking for income tax deduction because you are a high income earner, then you would seek many negative gearing properties, where the income is lower than expenses. Buying multiple properties will give you more opportunities to do that.
    Question is, should tax minimisation be your main motivation for property investment?

From a financial planning perspective, buying multiple properties will diversify your risk.

Cheers,
    Kenny

Profile photo of Les PaulLes Paul
    @les-paul

Thanks Kenny. No Im not looking to minimise tax. Im a middle income earner.

Im actually looking at long term, and starting a property portfolio for 15 to 20 years down the track. I want my money somewhere safe and relatively risk free for retirement. So I assume then that I should invest in 1 property at first. 

cheers
    Shane

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Shane