All Topics / General Property / High income or Low Income for Investment

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of julitojulito
    @julito

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie in this forum, me and my brother planning to do some property investment together.

I've been working for some time so my income is considerably higher compared to my brother who has just completed his uni. so my tax bracket at the higher end and my brother bracket is at the lowest end.

There is no problem getting loan either for myself or my brother.

Would it be better we do it all under my brother name, my name or joined considering I can get deduction but higher tax for the income or CGT, where by my brother has almost no tax deduction but would be lower on income tax or when we sell the IP.

Any comments would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Think long term.

What will happen when you sell 5 to 10 years later with a $500,000 capital gain?

circumstances change, so best not to decide based on today's situation.

Look at using a discretionary trust for maximum flexibility.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of julitojulito
    @julito

Thanks Terryw for your reply. You're absolutely right, that things may changed in the future, and what ever I decided may not be suitable for the long run. I never heard about discretionary trust, what is this and how does this actually works ?.

Just out of curiosity, out of this two scenario which one is better, more tax deduction with higher CGT or less tax deduction and less  CGT ? I don't have experience on this. anyone have the numbers to compare ?

Thanks.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw