All Topics / Finance / Taking equity from current PPOR for buying IP

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 30 total)
  • Profile photo of julitojulito
    @julito

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie in this investing world and I'm thinking of starting it now. so please be gentle on me :) I even just picked up the term PPOR and IP from this forum.

I am currently owning a home and I believe the value of the property has increased from $375K to around $550K based on the recent similar property sales around.

I am on IO loan all along and still owing $360K.

have spoken to my bank to increase my loan amount, but there is $1.5K fee in order to do this.
    Is this normal that I'd expect to pay this fee or there other better way of doing this.
    another thing is there is exit fee on my loan which currently 1.2% may be drop to 0.8% of $360K next year.

My plan is to use this equity to purchase my IP. but I'm also not sure if this is the best thing I should do. should I sell my current home, and buy IP and then rent?

Any info would be very helpful form me. Thank you.

Profile photo of Investment-MortgagesInvestment-Mortgages
    @investment-mortgages

Firstly congratulations on even thinking about buying an IP!!

Secondly 99.99% of the time- NEVER sell!(there are time whens its applicable though)
    it just cost too much, capital gains, mortgage break fees, agent fees…….(long list)

Equity release is usually the best way however everyone's situation is different.
    based on what you have estimated you have a loan to value ratio(LVR) of only 65%=
    (360 divided by 550)

Income and expenses dependent you could increase this up to around 90-95%
    495-522.5k  minus current loan leaves about 135k to play with.

This is enough to buy many IP's and leave some for servicing until rents increases and value adding
    pay more of loan repayments…

If you have a lending quote done make sure you use a broker(not a bank) who specialize in investment loans