All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Transfer of property title into spouses name

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of fishngymfishngym
    @fishngym

G'day all,

I am new to this game and have a few questions for the educated.

The misses and i recently (last year) purchased a property in only her name as this purchase would then be eligible for the FHOG (due to definition of defacto spouse as per Acts Interp Act)

I was the guarantor for the loan and remained off the title. We have now met our requirements of the FHOG and wish to transfer the title into both our names for taxation purposes (now meet definition of defacto spouse.)

We are able to add my name to the loan product without fees and wish to take advantage of a spousal transfer exemption outlined in s151 Duties Act.

After reading the section I am wondering what is defined as "will be the principal residence of the parties?" Can this "will", be an unspecified distant future date or will we need to occupy the house immediately? Any thoughts on the matter?

Further to the question, if my name is now on the title and loan, can I now claim the borrowing costs over the first 5 years? Or do I miss out as I was not on the loan/title at the time of the borrowings?

Any thoughts or ideas would be great. Am I completely off the track? Would anyone else do it differently? The house is in QLD and my income is apx 80 000 with the misses being 30 000.

Cheers

151 Exemption—particular residencesTransfer duty is not imposed on a dutiable transaction that isthe transfer, or agreement for the transfer, by way of gift, from1 party to a subsisting marriage or de facto relationship to theother party to the marriage or de facto relationship, of aninterest in residential land if—(a) after the transfer, the residential land will be owned bythe parties as joint tenants or tenants in common inequal shares; and(b) the residence will be the principal residence of theparties.