All Topics / Help Needed! / Any advice – for or against “off-the-plan” properties for investment ?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of kwarriorkwarrior
    @kwarrior

Hi,

I am new to investing in Property…I have had several contacts with people who are able to and will help…but recently I am caught in a quandry.

I have one "adviser"…saying I should never buy an "off-the-plan" investment property. He says buy closed to the CBD (I am in Melbourne)…you may have to renovate or get a unit that has been recently renovated…in order to maximise my 'depreciation' claims…

On the other hand, I had somebody advise…that I could do the following with an "off-the-plan" IP..
    a)Save on Stamp duty..the money saved makes up for the rental loss..
    b) Since I will make a commitment, and draw a loan for this IP, I am allowed to offset my Interest Payments this financial year..
    c) I have a "brand new" place, deriving the best possible depreciation over the next 10 years…

Both assume that I am in a growth area ..with an historical trend of 5 or 6 % year on year…

Any advice from people who have actually invested in 'off-the-plan' IPs ? This will be my first one, and hence my apprehension…

Help!!

KW

Profile photo of XynergyXynergy
    @xynergy

Hi kwarrior,  in my opinion, off the plan is usually better for investment, especially if the developer give a rental guarantee. Moreover, off the plan gives u opportunity for increasing price as the houses/apartments are being build. Also as u mentioned above u can save on other stuff such as stamp duty.
    I have an experience of buying off the plan at Travancore , where my client bought it and 3 weeks later the price has gone up for another 15k, so bassically u have a capital gain of 15k.