All Topics / Value Adding / Painting Advice Needed from Seasoned Renovators Please!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Susie40Susie40
    @susie40

Hi All

Just wanting some advice please as to painting a queenslander that l live in (PPOR). I've ripped out the old kitchen and polished the floor boards and now want to paint the walls before putting a new kitchen in. They are vj with about 6 layers of paint and in poor condition. What is the best option for me to bring up to scratch. Paint strip the walls, sand, steam or plasterboard over?? Any advice would be helpful.

Cheers

Suzie

Profile photo of Cat159Cat159
    Participant
    @cat159

Hi

We have just renovated a QLD'r – being that my other half is a plasterer by trade, he has kept at least one wall as VJ's in each room and gyprocked the rest creating a mix of old and new. (It actually looks quite good). Vj's are alot of work, so at the end of the day it is up to you which route you want to choose, but to bring them up to scratch for painting you would need to scrape back flaking paint, sand problem areas and fill any holes, then no more gap between the grooves. We used 1 box of no more gaps per room and it took a good part of the day to do. We then rollered the wall (no brushing needed – except where you need to cut in) doing 2 coats.

Hope this helps

Cheers

Profile photo of Susie40Susie40
    @susie40

Hi Cat159

Thanks for the advice.

You are certainly right that JV's are a lot of work. I like the idea of gyprock and jv together. Will try and have a go myself.

Thanks again.

Cheers

Profile photo of WylieWylie
    @wylie