All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Purchasing a property as a group.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of craigandellycraigandelly
    Participant
    @craigandelly

Hello,

I am new to this forum and have a question regarding purchasing property as a group and what is the best way to go about it. (Hopefully I am posting in the right area)

As a group of 3 couples we are looking to purchase a property and would like some advice or direction on what would be the best way to set this up. Is it possible to get a loan as the whole group applying as one? I have heard that this may be possible as a registered company with everyone listed as directors but not sure of the advantages, disadvantages and risks. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start or even find out?

As said previously I am very new to this and thought this forum would be a great place to start and get some advice. Appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks

Craig.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Craig

There are a couple of ways to do this however i guess each party will want something different from the deal.

Depending on how long you intend to hold the properties determine the type of structure you may wish to use however either a Discretionary or Unit Trust structure maybe a good starting point.

Financing the deal will be a little different as each party (Director or Trustee) will be jointly and severaly liable for the entire loan. Each partners existing liabilities, income and expenditure will be considered so if each couple has a differing asset base then there maybe some inequality.

More information would be needed to provide further assistance.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of whyallawhyalla
    @whyalla

Hi Craig,