All Topics / Help Needed! / Commercial Property growth rates

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of rgarreffargarreffa
    @rgarreffa

I am currently looking at a commercial investment property which while negative return now within 24 months will be cashflow positive with little to cover in the mean time.  Given that the return will be good relatively quickly I do not want to pass it up especially as commercial rentals are at a low point currently and this is a price location.

I have no experience in terms of capital growth of commercial property.  Does anyone know of any sites that would provide this sort of information?

Profile photo of Michael 888Michael 888
    Participant
    @michael-888

Check out a book by Martin Roth and Chris Lang "How Investing in Commercial Property Really Works." It covers the topic very well.

The website of Chris Lang (Gardiner and Lang) is http://www.gal.com.au. They have some fundamental info there. Maybe start there and familiarise your self with the basics as it sounds as though you will be making a decision in the near future.

It's good that you seek out such knowledge, because the fundamentals of commercial investing are different to residential. I trust the info above helps you with your question and assists with your decision to go for the deal or not.

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

There is usually little capital growth in commercial property until some of the market fundamentals change – ie Sydney CBD has been sitting on $8-10k/m2 for quite a while, so unless there is some new pressure eg rezoning to move to a more intensive use, then property prices will not fluctuate wildly over a given timeframe.