All Topics / Finance / new and need some advice

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of SimoneanddwayneSimoneanddwayne
    @simoneanddwayne

Hi all,
    I'm new to all this and wanted to know is there something different about investment loans compared to your home loan that allows you to pay less off for your IP so you can cover the loan payments . Or is it all about finding an IP that covers the loan payments plus a bit extra. I own my home which is worth about $400k and want to  buy an investment but dont have a very high income, so dont even know if the bank will let us borrow. Or will they let us borrow on our equity alone.
    Any advice would be great.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

You can borrow without an income and some people even borrow a bit extra to cover any shortfall between the rent and the repayments.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

You need to consider how you would cover the loan if you had three months without a tenant or lost your job for a period of time.
    Lenders will take a percentage of rental income into account when you borrow, this figure is different from each bank in working out if you can service the loan.
    Another point is you may be thinking of is an interest only loan, which is an investment loan where you do not pay off the principal loan balance. (thus less payments each week)
    Also investment loans are not protected from the UCCC regulation that covers residential loans. So if you get behind in the payments you will be treated a lot harsher than if you were a normal residential loan holder.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007