All Topics / Help Needed! / newbie with equity but only centrelink an chid support income how should i proceed

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of motivated99motivated99
    Participant
    @motivated99

I guess i ahve a few questions

I am a sole parent newbie with equity
    but only centrelink child support income. will i lose this centrelnik child support income when i invest.

I was told that if i put the properties against an investment property then i wont lose the centrelink a they then look at the loan and not the rent
    but that if i do it agaisnt my home then they count the rent as income and not the loan as loss.

does anyone know about this to verify it .

otherwise do i need to first hav ea differnt soruce of income before i start investing as this source i may lose if i start investing

or can i take a line of credit and use some of it to rfinances the shortfall between lan and rent. I am worried aobut not hveing enough income to invest in property.

is it true you cant find positive cash flow properties now as easilly asyou could a few eyars ago as that would solve my problem possibly if i could go int opositve cash flow properties taht still ahd growth. is there such a thing still and in melbourne wher ei live.

the centrelink and child support incomes wont last forever only a few more years so how should i go about this should i first finda better source of income or how can i go forward.
    jasmin.

Profile photo of MillyMilly
    @milly

Boy do I know about this situation AND I found out the hard way.  At least Centrelink warned you upfront about the cross-collatorisation ruling.  Initially Centrelink told me it was ok (just some pleb at the end of the phone not a centrelink financial planner) and I went ahead and bought two houses using my own home as equity.