All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing in Inner City Studio’s

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of zizzuuzizzuu
    @zizzuu

Hi,

I have noticed a number on inner city sydney studios in security complexes (some with parking) for around 200k. They are returning 220/week in rent and to me seem fairly good valve. I understand that the capital growth will be minimal, that strata etc needs to be considered and that the tax offsets are low but with the increasing pressure on rent levels the return could be OK for a small investment.

i am just starting out in this game and am looking to get a taste early without getting a burnt tongue. Am i missing something here in terms of the viability of these properties as investments

Thanks for your help

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Have a look at this post
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/help-needed/4322681

I think if Capital growth is minimal there is no point in investing in these things.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of MasihMasih
    Participant
    @masih

When you're first starting out then Capital Growth is the way to go. You wanna build up equity in a hurry to build up your portfolio quicker. When you're more settled in the future then you can look at +cashflow properties to balance things out abit.

Profile photo of Michael4Michael4
    @michael4

hi there,

I agree with Masih when it comes to the IP strategy.

I don't advise anyone to buy studio units in sydney as they are old crappy and will get you least amount of appreciation and most amount of headaches when it comes to maintenance and all the strata you have to pay.