All Topics / Finance / Property developers

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of Joseph1Joseph1
    @joseph1

Please advise how applicants being property developers is a high risk occupation to mortgage insurers ?

Profile photo of s.r.props.r.prop
    @s.r.prop

Hi Joseph – please clarify what you mean.  I work in the field of property development but couldn't quite understand what you were asking.

Profile photo of Joseph1Joseph1
    @joseph1

How would mortgage insurers view applicants if they were working in the property development field ?

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Joseph very simply.

1) If you are realting to financing of an owner occupied or investment property then like any self employed Profession they would look at 2 years Tax returns and work off these. Good track record never goes a miss.
    2) If you are looking a mortgage insuring a development then it is simple they wont do it.

I financed 187 wrap properties with the wrap income forming a large part of the Companies income and whilst it had to eventually go to National Acceptance level with the Bank concerned we had no problem. Property Development is just another occupation if presented correctly.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

@joseph1

Might the mortgage insurers decline a application with the applicant being a property developer as his income from the sale of properties is based on speculation and as a result they may lose money on the sale of properties if their is a market downturn ?

Please advise.Thank you.

Participant
    @qlds007

Joseph

Not at all if a good track record is in place. 2 years TR's with a list of projects and you should be fine.

Have financed many a PD and earn a fair bit of my annual income from doing just that.

@joseph1

Thank you Richard.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw