All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing Full-Time

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Profile photo of wezwazwezwaz
    Participant
    @wezwaz

I am not an experienced property investor since most of my time has been spent in the share market.

I was at an investment seminar some years ago where Dolf De Roos presented. I always remember a comment he made along the lines, "with $100k you can control $1 million worth of property" The comment was meant to indicate you can leverage more than you can with shares (not strictly true since you can use derivatives to gain huge leverage, more than property in fact, but this is a side issue).

With my net worth I could leverage into property to give me a portfolio in the millions. The problem is all that debt has to be serviced. Does that mean you must keep working to do it? From what I can gather, initially you have to until you obtain a number of properties to make it self-sustaining, which I'm guessing have to include +ve cashflow properties.

I don't want to continue working, but invest on a full-time basis. In all the case studies I read, I don't get the detail as to how you continue buying properties if you don't work to service the debt. Obviously if all/most properties are +ve cashflow, fair enough you have net income.

Would someone please give me an idea of a pathway to accumulate property without working a paid job to service debt. I'm talking a buy-and-hold strategy.

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

A lot of the property gurus talk about never working and being able to buy property, and I often wonder how they manage to keep getting finance form banks with no income (other than rent). I think a few details are conveniently left out, unless they have been extremely creative with finance.

Personally, I think rental income can be more reliable than earned income as you can get fired or laid-off from your earned income job, but banks don't seem to see it that way.