All Topics / General Property / Rental Property Phone Lines

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of EJEJ
    @ej

Hi everyone

I am a student and have just moved into a rental property which is managed directly by the landlord. Recently (well, over a month ago) I applied with Optus to get our phone line connected as well as the internet. This took 2 weeks. The phone line was then found to be faulty and we were told it would be another 2 weeks before they could get someone to fix it. After those 2 weeks Telstra told us that it wasn't as simple a task as they had thought because they could not get under the house, so they would have to excavate some of the garden and footpath.

Our landlord was not happy with this and was convinced that no excavation had to be done. He started arguing with Telstra's people and was trying to do things his own way. I am unsure what happened after the argument because I had to leave to go to uni, but when I arrived home tonight, the phone line is still not working.

My question lies in my rights as a tenant and really what I should do to get the simple liberty of having a working phone line in our house as promptly as possible, seeing as it has taken us 5 weeks so far. Does the landlord HAVE to supply use with a phone line? Even if it means this excavation (I don't think it is too major, just digging up a bit of lawn)? Who should I really be talking to to get this done? Telstra? Optus the internet provider? The landlord? I am sick of being given the run around and just want this problem fixed and was hoping that someone here might be able to help me a little.