All Topics / Opinionated! / Salary : House prices ratio

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of spudstaspudsta
    @spudsta

Hello all,

Im new to investing and i have been reading as much as i can about real estate but i have a problem. Because all the books i have found are even 2 years old, the information is outdated. Like Steve's book. It mentions buying property for 40,000 in 2003. 

Now i have found the average salary in 2003 was about $40,000 for australia (varies in areas of course). Now its a few years on and salaries have not increased that much (couldnt find statistics but on what the average person earns its about the same) but property is much higher.
    I dont think you could find a property for under 100,000 yet the salaries are the same. Does anyone know where to get proper statistics on this or can they help me with figures but to me it looks as if it is very hard to get into property on the average income nowadays unless you already own a property that you can sell/use equity on.

Am i wrong? Have salaries increased along with property or has property had a large leap recently and salaries have not?

Thanks all

Profile photo of WylieWylie
    @wylie

I'd like to know just what $40K would have bought in 2003. Obviously not in a capital city.

If I was young and just starting out now, I would buy a cheapie house, rent it out while living at home. If living at home is not possible, next best strategy (my opinion only) would be to buy a cheapie (best cheapie I could afford) and rent somewhere even cheaper. At least I would have a foot on the bottom rung of the real estate ladder. Equity will increase over time.

This is exactly how I started 26 or so years ago and I have suggested the same to my 18 year old son. He has just started uni and is only working five hours per week, so cannot do anything yet, but I am encouraging him to think about it.