All Topics / Finance / CF+ and getting finance for further properties

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of zerszers
    @zers

Hi All,

I've been trolling the forums the past few weeks while I read through various books on Property Investing. One question I've not been able to find an answer for is this:

As many people are saying now, it's getting harder and harder to find properties that pass the 11 second rule, which means resorting to creative methods of creating CF+ investments. One popular one I've noticed is buying a property built post 1987 (I think) so you can claim tax deductions which will turn it from CF- to CF+.

My question is this, will the banks recognise this as CF+ when it comes time to secure finance for further properties? Or will they see the CF- situation and decline further loans?

TIA

Profile photo of FirebladeRRFirebladeRR
    @firebladerr

Hi Tia,

I am not an expert in this field, but I can my recent experiance.

My bank allowed me to use the rent (reduced by a vacancy factor).  Then for the servicability test, they deducted a fixed percentage of my gross income for taxes and living expenses.  Then the remainder had to be able cover the repayments at an inerest rate 2% higher than the current variable rate.

Under those conditions, then a property that is made CF+ wouldn't have increased my borrowing capacity.

But, lending is getting more competitve these days. So there is still hope.

The ATO will allow you to claim a tax variation for investment properties, through PAYG, so you get your deductions through out the year, not at the end of the financial year.  If you made this claim, it would increase your net salary.  Then all you would have to do is find a lender that uses your net salary (mine used gross) and that would increase your borrowing capacity.