All Topics / Help Needed! / Build and Sell or hold and use equity

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of chetnik73chetnik73
    Participant
    @chetnik73

Hi All

I am a newbie here on the forums so please be gentle.

We secured a block of land in WA just at the beginning of the boom. To cut a long story short we bought at 180k and the land is now worth 280 so I think we have 100k equity. We have contracted to build a house on this block which will cost us another 180. So all up I our cost should be 360 and houses in that area are probably costing upwards of 500k.

Thats the boring part. What I would like to know is what I should do next.

Given that we will be hit with some CGT our accountant is suggesting we hold on to the property and put some tenants in at maybe $380-400 a week. I am unsure of how much we could claim in deductions etc but he believes the house could cost us as little as $25 a week.

What are your thoughts ?

We would like to buy our own house and arent sure how the equity could help in our house purchase. Or do we sit on it, buy another investment property and keep renting approx 220 a week.

Please help.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

If you sell you will be hit with various costs such as CGT, legals, loan exit fees, and agents fees. Do some sums and work out what these will be. Then weight this up against not selling.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    [email protected]
    Send an email to get my newsletter.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of Trump JnrTrump Jnr
    @trump-jnr