All Topics / Help Needed! / Family Trusts – good or bad

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of kevbeamankevbeaman
    @kevbeaman

Hello to all. I am new to this web site and still getting my feet. I am looking at starting a real estae investment portfolio and wanted to know if anyone had personal experience with family trusts and if they are a good idea.

Thanks in advance,
    Kevin

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Kevin

Difficult to provide a defined answer as everyones circumstances are different. Trust come in vary guises each having a particular place in the market

If you are looking for Asset protection and also want to be able to claim the negaitve gearing benefits then a HDT is worth considering.

However before you start you probably need to make sure all the fundimentals are in place with regards to your loan structure.

Cheers

Richard Taylor
    Residential & Commercial Finance Broker.
    Licensed Financial Planner. Ph: 07 3720 1888
    [email protected]
    Looking for life cover – We Guarantee to beat any quote you have in writing.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of karenhenry293karenhenry293
    @karenhenry293

Richard,

I too am looking into the structure question – I thought it was the first thing that I had to get sorted. What exactly do you mean by loan structure? could you possible supply an example?

regards
    Karen

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Karen

Assume you have your own PPOR which has $200K of equity in it.
    You are wanting to purchase an IP for $200K and you go back to your Bank to borrow the entire amount plus sufficient funds to cover acquisition costs.

Normally your Bank would make an advance for the full amount in the one loan and cross collateralise the 2 securities.

This would carry on with each new IP property you decided to buy.