All Topics / Help Needed! / Help on Equity refinancing

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of dchiemdchiem
    @dchiem

Hi,

I am very new to the property investing game, so please forgive my ignorance [glum2]. After reading Steve’s latest book, i am gung-ho about PI and have been researching/planning what strategies will benefit my girlfriend and I.

Currently my girlfriend has had the blessing of her parents to purchase a 300k property in full, and i have been telling her to use that equity to purchase other properties, but wasn’t too convincing as i really didn’t understand myself :(

Anyway from my understanding, because she has paid off her property in full, does that mean she can redraw 100% of that amount and finance that into another property? Is this possible?

I have read that lenders generally only lend a maximum of 80% of the value of the property so does that mean she can borrow only $240,000 maximum to put into another property? If this is the case, lets say in a scenario we purchased a property worth 400k, does that mean we have 2 loans then(1 to take out the $240,000 @ x%, and the other loan is the difference amount of purchase price to equity invested i.e $160,000 @ x%)? How does this help me produce a CF+ situation when i have 2 loans?

My second question is, can i somehow utilise the rest of the money in the first property i.e $60k to put into another property, or is this the definition of cross-collaterising (which should be avoided)?

I hope someone out there can help me find the answers as it is doing my head in! [wacko][wacko][wacko]

Thanking you in advance!

Regards
    Dave

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Banks as a rule will only let you use 80% of the equity in your home, less any outstanding loans. Some banks will let you use more, but personally I think that is pushing the safety factor pretty high – not the banks; yours. Personally, I won’t go over 60% LVR (Loan to Value Ratio).