All Topics / Help Needed! / whats best.. super or property?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 26 total)
  • Profile photo of summerskysummersky
    @summersky

TextThis is my very first post. Just joined today! Please be gentle as I just learn and maybe ask obvious questions..

I have been told recently that contributing to Super is a better option than Investment property, as residential property is only returning 4 % ish. So taking into account my borrowing costs of 7-8%, I’d be way behind the 8-ball, even with tax mans and tenants help. I am only on 27% tax rate. Any ideas?

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Is a broad question. Is like me asking which is a better vehicle …. a 4WD or a Convertible?

Of course it depends on your situation – either can be better.

I am no superannuation expert but an older person can gain a lot of benefit from Super. Younger people, who don’t invest (lets face it – that’s the majority) should use Super as much as possible too. I think it is a safety net for those who don’t act in a positive manner investment wise.

We are in our 40’s and decided that my wife (the Dr ) is going to salary sacrifice into super. We are closer to our 60’s than many forum members.

But having said all that – you really should consult an accountant.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Residential and Commercial Finance Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Simons analogy of the different motor vehicles is so true.

For each persons individual circumstances the answer would be different.