All Topics / Help Needed! / city or country

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of neneanenea
    @nenea

hello i was just wondering if anyone can give me some advice on city or country. i am new to this and yet to buy my first ip i was looking at a country town with approx. 15,000 population but not so sure now , property is cheap 100k but local r/e agents tell me they have problems with tenants in propertys at that price .. so maybe i should look at the city ??

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Why buy in the country? Population growth is lower, and this would potentially limit capital growth

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Parramatta
    [email protected]
    Just send me a blank email, with “subscribe” in subject line.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of DraconisVDraconisV
    Participant
    @draconisv

Positive Cashflow, that why the Country.
    Thats all…..

Profile photo of marsdenmarsden
    @marsden

Some country areas offer affordability whereas the city equivalent may take more of your funds to get started. I think the most important factor is the tendancy towards sea & tree change. There are some who are searching for a change of life style and are going to the country to find it. Often retirees make this choice. Your IP may not be of interest to these tree changers but the ripple effect would contribute to sustaining prices and rent. Many of these smaller places have a rental market economic that is more lucrative than city markets because the competition is not so fierce. With a clean property and sensible tenant screening you will enjoy a reasonable rental market in most small towns!

Profile photo of suzieqsuzieq
    @suzieq