All Topics / Help Needed! / Calculating A Good Investment

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of DanielCumminsDanielCummins
    @danielcummins

Hi All,

Looking at purchasing my first IP soon, and just wanted to get some thoughts on a potential property I’ve found (bear with me as I’m still learning the ropes!):

* Property is listed at $100,000, although, has been listed for a while (I’ve been keeping my eye on it), and may sell for chaeper.
    * Currently being rented for $155.00 a week, on a 12 month lease.

Now, having looked at online loan calculators, it seems an IO loan for $90,000 (hopefully settle for $95,000, then 5% for fees, and 5% for dedosit) would have repayments of around $125 a week… Indicating a $30/week CF+ scenario.

Could someone please explain how this works, and what I’m missing, I’m sure there must be plenty! What other costs should I be factoring in to much calculations?

Thanks heaps in advance,
    Daniel

Profile photo of dejong_fdejong_f
    @dejong_f

Hi Daniel,
    You are assuming 100% tenancy, what about council rates, repairs, rental managers %, etc. You need to factor in all your outgoings, not just look at rental income versus interest payments.
    Hope this helps a bit
    Frank.[biggrin]

Investor in training!

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Daniel,

You need to factor in the (likely) maintenance costs, the validity of the rent received (is it out of wack with the norm in the community), what is the economic stability/outlook like for the community, vacancy rates, growth prospects, value stability, finance issues (will bank/mortgage insurance provider recognise 95% as suitable security in this area) and so on.

Cashflow is but one part of the equation.

Derek
    [email protected]
    http://www.mononpoly.tic.com.au
    0409 882 958
    Skype – derekjones2113

Profile photo of Kiwi-FullaKiwi-Fulla
    @kiwi-fulla