All Topics / Help Needed! / Young Investor, Need Opinions!

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of Machwon320Machwon320
    @machwon320

Hello all, my name is Ron and I am new to property investment. I am only 20 and am still in school but I have saved up $30k for investment. I was considering lookiing at an apartment to rent out, but will my monthly revenue cover payments on the apartment each month? What other opportunites do I have with such little money?
    Thanks for anyone that will respond, I am here to be educated so I want to apologize if I don’t understand everything right away.

Profile photo of DanielCumminsDanielCummins
    @danielcummins

Hey mate,

I’m no pro either… but 30K isn’t a small deposit. Steve’s first was 10K, and look where he is now! Most brokers will let you borrow somewhere between 90 – 95% of the value of the property… so there are a lot of paths you can choose to walk down. Don’t underestimate your achivements, and what you can achieve.

There are plenty of good resources on this forum to help you started as far as finding tips for good. You won’t get all the answers thrown at you by asking in one forum… You have to work a little for it… Do a little digging [blush2]

Steve’s books are also an excellent resource… start with his first one, 130 Properties in 3.5 Years, and the passion will soon grow to learn as much as you can. [exhappy]

Profile photo of jnistedjnisted
    @jnisted

Hi Ron

I’m envious of your age – I wish I’d started investing that young!

Have you thought about student accommodation? There are people out there who are leasing 3-4 bed houses near universities and then sub-letting them by the room. Positive cash flow without having to actually buy the property. The only risk is having the property empty. But then you can either terminate the lease, or look for other tenants.