All Topics / Value Adding / What Have I Missed?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Rookie DeveloperRookie Developer
    @rookie-developer

Hi
    I am new to subdivisions and need some help. We are looking at a property in Melb which has an existing dwelling in good structural condition just needs approx $25k worth of renos done on it. The house has 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom.

The current owner of the property has submitted plans to the council for plans and permits to add a 2 bedroom plus study, 2 bathroom unit in the back.

The property is 853.56m2
    The details are:
    Existing Dwelling 109.40m2
    Garage 1 39.00m2
    Unit 2 127.95m2
    Porch 2.50m2
    Garage 2 42.22m2
    Land covered 321.07m2

The owner is looking for $390,000. We believe that after subdivision and addition of the unit plus renovations we could sell both properties for $350,000 each.

We believe that for a quality home (but not expensive) that the cost of the unit would be $10k per m2. This would then be a cost of just under $130,000. We figure with the driveway, reno costs, porch for existing dwelling that this would probably come to $180,000. Can anyone tell me whether this sounds like a legit figure?

Also the plans show stores behind the garages does anyone know if this can be just a $500 shed type storage room?

Also has anyone purchased a house just as the current owner has submitted plans and permits to the council. I guess things I am looking at knowing is who would be responsible for ensuring the sewerage and other utilities are connected or will this depend on the condition of the sale of the house?

What else do I need to think about? What have I missed that is so obvious???

Bec
    [juggle]

TroynBec

[email protected]

Profile photo of Alistair PerryAlistair Perry
    Participant
    @aperry

Hi Bec,