All Topics / Help Needed! / Help needed soon.(Tarneit or Point Cook)

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of mgrmgr
    @mgr

I have been given the chance a 2 lots for investment both over 720sqm in Melbourne the first is in Tarneit for $180000 the second is in Point Cook(Monteray Central) 844sqm at $180000.
    There has been a lot of slanging between home builders and developers this is a home i would like to live in but i have very little knowledge of the area can anyone give any advice my gut says Point Cook but any Melbourne experts with advice would be great.

Profile photo of sarge_80sarge_80
    @sarge_80

Hi mgr,

I recently bought a block in Point Cook (612 sq m) for $147k. This block was to build our house, not to use as investment per se.

Personally, if you’re looking for capital gains and investment I wouldn’t look at Point Cook. We had trouble getting finance on the $147k, and the developer wanted $155k for it to start with (they gave us a rebate). We ended up having to get it valued 3 times before we got one that was OK, and even then it was because the mortgage broker knew the valuer.

So yes, we probably paid a bit much, but it’s where we want to live, so what can you do. [blink]

Anyway, we bought in the new estate down there called Innisfail, which is just behind Monterey Central (when you come from the freeway).

Our block is near the (future) corner of the Boardwalk Boulevard and Sneydes Rd. The Boardwalk Blvd is the main road that links to the freeway at the moment, but it’s not completed and under construction between Dunnings Rd and Sneydes Rd.

The Boulevard will eventually run straight through Monterey Central, through Innisfail and join on to Sneydes Rd at the back.

Future links to the freeway down there include a widening of Pt Cook Rd and a new overpass/onramp and extension of Palmers Rd. However, that’s been talked about for a while and don’t know when construction is going to commence.