All Topics / Help Needed! / should I keep my credit cards?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of VoirinVoirin
    @voirin

Hi,

I am new to property investing and have recently read “From 0 to 130 Properties in 3.5 Years”. That was a great read!

I would like to follow a similar hard boiled property acquisition scheme i.e. purchase a number of positive cash flow properties. In the interim, I am trying to organize my financial situation. I am slightly in debt, but should be out of credit card debt by next month – phew!

During the period where I was in debt I was able to attain the following credit cards:

CBA Gold ($7,500)
    – has annual fee, 55 interest free days, about 18% interest

ANZ Rewards ($10,000)
    – has annual fee, 44 interest free days, about 18% interest

Virgin ($2,000)
    – no annual fee, 55 interest free days, about 13% interest

Shell ($20,000)
    – I cancelled this one recently

Is there any advantage to having credit cards when following Steve McKnight’s methods? I am also looking at the following ideas:

1. Paying the 10% deposit with a credit card; quickly renovating the property; then selling it before the interest period ends (or shortly after).

2. Using the credit card for property renovation purposes and gaining credit card reward points through this

3. The effect having credit cards will have on attaining a home loan

As I don’t have much cash on hand, I was thinking of acquiring a property; renovating it; then selling it on the market to get some equity. This will aid in my medium to long term goals which are to hold onto positive cash flow properties. Would credit cards help here?

Or should I just get rid of all my credit cards and use a debit card? I want to minimize my expenses as much as possible.

Any pointers and help would be most appreciated!

Thanks!
    voirin

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Hi Voirin & welcome to the forum,