All Topics / Help Needed! / investment strategies

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of giladgilad
    @gilad

Hi all,

I guess i’ll tell you a bit about my situation and hope for some positive feedback. I am a 20 year old student studying commerce/property and construction. I have some experience working for a builder, but at the moment have minimal cash for a deposit on a house/unit/apartment.

I work part time, which at the moment pays off my car. I am still living at home and don’t pay rent but on the other hand i have other expenses… car insurance, petrol, mobile, food, internet etc.

I have a few options i have been considering…

(1) buy a small house/apartment/unit, qualify for the fhog and then move into the place for 6 to 12 months. This would be a hard scenario as it would involve me selling my car and having to walk, ride my bike and take public transport everywhere. Additionally, i’m not sure i could cover the mortgage repayments by myself and may have to have another person involved. The plan would then be to do basic renovations and fix up the place – refinance and then decide to rent it out or use the equity to repeat the whole project again and again…

(2) another option which i haven’t really investigated too much is buying a parking spot. I’m told that it is almost neutral cash flow… but this almost defeats the purpose as i currently have limited cash flow and am looking for cashflow as well as capital gains. I guess cash flow is a bit more important at this stage.