All Topics / Value Adding / Splitter Block, Newmarket, Brisbane

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of StuzzyStuzzy
    @stuzzy

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this site. I found this great site just today.

It has a wealth of information that I have been looking for.

I have found a LMR zoned, 809m2 (20m front) block in Newmarket, Brisbane. It is just 4km from the city. There is a train station about 400m away and a bus to the city just 200m away.

It has an old house on it at the moment.

I am trying to do a feasibility study of doing a town house development.

This is my first project so very cautious. I would prefer doing the project with a JV partner.

Can you all tell me

1. What’s the townhouse marker in Newmarket like at the moment (new shopping and restaurant complex might be promising)

2. How many town houses can one of these 809m2 blocks hold ?

I have 1001 questions to ask all of you. I will start with the above.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of INVESTAINVESTA
    @investa

Use the following as a guide;

You should be able to achieve 60% GFA being within 400m of a train station.

809m2 x 60% = 485m2 gross floor area

This does not include car parks/balconies

So depending on size, could fit approx:
    4 x 3 bed @ 100m2 living space &
    1 x 2bed @ 85m2 living space.

As you said Newmarket has “The Newmarket” being developed at present which will do wonders for the suburb, so close to the CBD, train and QUT Kelvin Grove campus amongst other things.

For a guide on price just check out realestate.com.au and get an idea for what the asking price is for a similar townhouse as a guide.

Hope this helps, Id suggest you meet with a local town planner to confirm the GFA and yield of the site.

Remember to check things such as zoning, services (water, sewerage), flood report if applicable etc etc

Matt

Profile photo of jhopperjhopper
    @jhopper

Hi Stuzzy,