All Topics / Help Needed! / Apartment vs House

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of rpurirpuri
    @rpuri

Hi investing gurus.

I am new to this. I have mortgage on the house I am living in. I am also now considering buying an investment property few questions:
    1. Is it better to invest in a house or an apartment- lets say the location is similar?
    2. Is it better to pay off my mortgage on my existing house fully before investing or should I go ahead and get another property.

What things I should be considering in making the above decisions?

Thanks a lot for the help.

Rajesh

Profile photo of kay henrykay henry
    @kay-henry

Rajesh,

I think it depends on where you are looking. Land is valuable when it is in scarce supply… but if you are looking say, in a rural area, then an apartment/unit could be more feasible. Generally, body corporate fees can be a killer in a lot of newer apartments, but in some places, units can be far more attractive. Units only really came into being some time in the 60’s, so you can get an idea of their age just by looking at them, often. If the BC rates are too low, it might be that the block is neglected. Too high, and you are paying for pools, lifts, common areas, gyms, cafes etc that may be attractive to tenants, but are they necessary for your IP?

Paying BC fees can be ok though, if there are problems with the IP- because all tenants have to pay, whereas with a house- you have to pay by yourself.

Make sure, if you are buying an IP, that there are no special levies coming up- these should be proposed in the last BC AGM meetings.

Land does not always appreciate- depends on where it is. But houses are considered to be a “fundamental” of investment, in my opinion, because land often *does* appreciate- in good locations.

So many things to think about re buying an Ip- perhaps ask some more general questions, and people can provide you with some more specific ideas.

kay henry