All Topics / Help Needed! / what to ask when inspecting properties

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of kristelvkristelv
    @kristelv

i am a student on the gold coast looking at potential investment properties (for my parents, as i will be studying for the next 4 odd years)…i would really appreciate any advice on what to ask agents when shown various places. I know what price range we’r looking for and to get details such as land size and how old the places are but im really not sure whats important to know and what to find out…PLEASE HELP!!

Profile photo of LuciLuci
    @luci

Be aware that the real estate agent doesn’t work for you, so their answers to any questions will be skewed to elicit a sale.

You need to be a master of you own destiny here, and do research on what type of ‘investment property’ you are looking for. The Gold Coast is full of smooth operators trying to sell shoddy apartments/houses to the uneducated and gulible – so make sure you don’t fall into this category.

It actually sounds to me like the real question for you to be asking isn’t “what should I ask agents” but “what is a good investment property”.

Seeing you’re looking on behalf of your parents, maybe you should ask them what they are looking for exactly. Is cash flow a priority or is it more about capital growth? Are they wanting a property that is already leased to a tenant? Do they want something that is slightly run down that they can add-value to? Are they interested in residential property, commercial property, or holiday letting?

The real issue when purchasing an investment property isn’t the cost, size or age of the property – it is how much of a return you will get on your money. Property is a long term investment, with a hefty upfront expense, so you want to make the right decsion for today and the future.