All Topics / Help Needed! / Unlicensed selling

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of TrophyTrophy
    @trophy

Hi,

I have a tricky situation. A friend of mine has asked for assistance in selling their home (NSW). They do not want to use an agent to save $$ and I was an agent in the past.

Does anyone know the easiest (cheapest) way to find out what I can/cannot do for my friend to help them sell their house. I have called fairtrading but they referred me onto another dept etc…I’d orefer not to get legal advice unless we are willing to pay for it..

Hope you can help,

Trophy

Profile photo of BeanieBeanie
    Participant
    @beanie

I don’t know of any laws restricting you form selling a house privately. Maybe you could have a look at owner.com web site this is specifically ste up for private sales they should be able to help you. Regards Beanie

Live every day like its your last

Profile photo of TrophyTrophy
    @trophy

MY concern is that there are some activities (which a real estate agent performs) that connot be done by an unlicensed/registered person if the property id not theirs – mainly if there is an exchange of money/consideration (does a carton of beer count[biggrin])

Profile photo of annemlanneml
    Participant
    @anneml

Hi Trophy,

I agree with Beanie. You may also want to read Terry Ryders most recent book on private selling. If it is in NSW you would have to use a lawyer for the conveyancing. What else has to be done that only an agent could do?

Anne.

Profile photo of TrophyTrophy
    @trophy

I’m not worried about doing it ourselves – but they are going to pay me a small fee which means I cannot do those roles of an agent under the Property Agents, etc Act – e.g introduce buyers, induce parties to purchase, negotiate price, etc. It’s probably not too big a deal but I’d hate for an agent to find out and come after me as they are inclined to do when someone steals their “work”

Profile photo of WakeWake