All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Tax effective set up

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of francislfrancisl
    @francisl

Dear all,

I am new to investment and keen to invest after reading Steve’s books. I want to finance my investment from equity of my home property. When I draw money from home loan, the interest will increase accordingly. However, this part of the interest will not be incurred if there is not investment. Therefore, it is part of costs of investment. However, it is interest to my home loan which ATO probably considered as private usage. How could I legally transfer this part of interest into the tax deductable expenses for my investment?

Thank you!
    Francis

Profile photo of ss2306ss2306
    @ss2306

Hi Francis

I’m no expert but have been getting set-up for investing over the past few months. I, too, am using equity in my PPOR to finance investments. I have set up a line of credit specifically for investment purposes and will use this to pay deposits, solicitor fees, stamp duty, etc and will get a bank loan for the balance therefore the interest charged to the LOC will be tax deductible.

Hope this helps
    Shelley

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Tax deductibility depends on the purpose in which the funds were used, not the security used.

So if you increase you home loan to buy shares/property the extra interest incurred would be deductible.

The problem lies in determing the extra interest if you have one big loan.
    eg. If you have $50,000 owing on the home loan and then borrow another $50,000 for investment, in one big loan when you make your monthly repayment, the ATO may consider you to be paying 50% of each payment off each part of the loan. You will be paying off deductible debt when you should be paying off the home loan first.

If the portions are not equal it will be hard to calculate the interest owing on each portion.