All Topics / Help Needed! / Raising the rent

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of kingmikekingmike
    @kingmike

I have been renting my property out in the uk for about 2 years now and I feel its time to raise the rent. I have looked at the rental matrket and feel I can raise it by 50 pounds per month.

What is the best way to do this. Should I just get to the point and sent a letter with the new contract or should I discuss it with the Tennant?

Many thanks
    Mike

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Try to avoid discussing it with the tenant, they will give you reasons why they can’t afford it, and you may give in!

Just let your agent send them a letter saying the rent is going up to $XX per week.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of easymoneyeasymoney
    @easymoney

Hi Mike,

Terry got it in one. Never discuss it with the tenant as naturally no one ever wants to pay more money out of their pocket than what they have to.

If this is the first time you’re putting the rent up in two years then they should realise when they get the letter that they’ve had it pretty easy anyway.

easymoney

Profile photo of landt64landt64
    Participant
    @landt64

Hi Mike,
    the only thing I can see is that it’s quite a hike in the rent, and you run the risk of losing your tenants. What you’re proposing is an increase of around $32.00 a week, so even if it’s comparable with other rental properties, it’s a lot in one hit for your tenants. Maybe you could split the increase into one increase now and another in 6 months, to soften the blow. Just a thought.
    Landt.

Profile photo of DazzlingDazzling
    @dazzling

Mike,