All Topics / Legal & Accounting / SMSF and Family Trust Joint Venture

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of george_breengeorge_breen
    @george_breen

This is my first attempt at a Forum Post.

I hope some-one can help or guide us.

#1 Son has just moved out of home. He is going to Uni. Whilst this was his decision – it seems obvious to us that we will be supporting him financially for a number of years – and then there are the three other kids to follow!

We think it would be a good idea to buy a suitable house/appartment for him within reach of Melb Uni.

The way we would like to do this is as a JV between our SMSF and our Family Trust. THe SMSF has funds that we can not get any real benfits out of for sometime – so given they are locked away – why not invest in a property?

I would like to know how to set htis up legally and in a tax / cash flow effective manner.

Can anyone help or know anyone who can help – as my usual contacts do seem to know or want to know.

Regards

George

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Have a look at http://www.chrisbatten.com.au
    If may be hard to do.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of GrregGrreg
    @grreg

Hi George!

Sounds like you intend to skate on some mighty thin ice!

You need to consider the “Sole purpose” tests for SMSFunds. To sumarise this means that the investment must be soley for the purpose of providing for your retirement. If you or a related party/entity also benefits from the investment you have failed the sole purpose test.