All Topics / Creative Investing / IO = increased CF++ and liquidy

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of andycaseyandycasey
    Participant
    @andycasey

Hey, i know im very new at this (18 y/o currently purchasing 1st IP), but I have an idea id like to run through by everyone just for everyone to point out the obvious flaws in my plan.

Instead of taking out P&I loans for IP’s, where eventually you will own the house + land and make profit on the subsequent gain, if you just wanted a positive cashflow, without a real estate empire would this work:

Taking out IO loans on multiple IP’s, where there would be an increase in cashflow attained as there is no principal to be paid off, in essence simply getting money weekly for years for original effort. The obvious downside is you will never own the house, but if you’re just wanting cashflow would this be a viable idea? You would need significantly less investment properties to attain a passive income from real estate rather than the “standard” buy and hold strategies or otherwise.

Flaws? I know this idea can’t be as easy as I think it is,.. or is it?

Profile photo of lifeXlifeX
    @lifex

Well done on starting so young.

You can have IO s if you wan’t. It is good to have investment properties on IO and your house on p + I. As your investments get a tax deduction on the interest.

Some people like to use the positive cashflow to pay more off the principal as this reduces the debt and further increases the positive cashflow.

Also a good way to hang on to capital appreciating props.

Good on you :0}

Live, Learn and Grow

Lifexperience

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Most investors have IO on investment loans – it is standard practice, especially if you still have non-deductible loans.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    Click below to email me

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd