All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Purchase in own name?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of SafferSaffer
    @saffer

Hi,

I am new to the world of property investing. Looking at buying my first investment property and was wondering whether to do so in my own name or whether I should set up a company and purchase in the company’s name?

Can anyone offer some advice re. what the options are?

Cheers
    Shaun

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

it is not a good idead to buy in a company name. Go for your own name or a trust. Companies do not get the 50% CGT reduction and your shares are at risk if you are ever sued.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    Click below to email me

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of SafferSaffer
    @saffer

Thanks Terry. Where can I get additional info re. the setting up a Trust? And what are the advantages of a trust vs buying in your own name?

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Do a search on this site. There is heaps of info – everything you need to know!

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    Click below to email me

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of scorpioscorpio
    @scorpio

The short answer is it depends on a couple of things. Is the property positive/negatively geared?, and what would you be looking to achieve by using a trust? – asset protection?