All Topics / General Property / Cash deposit or Equity?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of Lady24Lady24
    @lady24

Hi
    I am only new to the idea of property investing although have done heaps of reading but not actually found the courage to take the first step – in this market I think I have time to do more learning so as not to make a mistake.
    In reading Steves book 0 – 130 properties I realise that he continually refers to cash deposits on each of the properties he buys therefore reducing the weekly cost becasue the repayments are lower. I am challenged by the fact that he says negative geared properties limit investors as they run out of income to finance them but if his methods are always based on cash deposits then I see this as the same thing. Cash flow positive Investors are limited by the properties they can buy until they save / earn enough for the next property. Unfortunatly my husband and I are low income earners and there is no excess from our pay each week to save the sort of money needed for a deposit being $20,000 for each investment property in todays market. We can manage 2 but then run out of money and the cash flow approx at $60 per week will take a very long time to save to make the next $20,000. How then can even 10 properties in the next 5 years in todays market be a realistic goal. Doesn’t this just place us in the same investing position as those who are nagtive gearing? Or am I completely missing the mark?

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Yep, there is no easy way to buy many properties quickly unless values are rising quickly and/or you have a large income to save the deposits.

You will find over time, your rents will slowly increase and your wages will rise, so you can save more. Also the values will hopefully go up to enable you use equity as well.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    Click below to email me