All Topics / General Property / API feature – ‘Young Guns’

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 26 total)
  • Profile photo of unannouncedunannounced
    @unannounced

Being a young person myself, I was particularly drawn to the latest API, also a little shocked by what the guy Tom did – for those who have read.

Tom a 22 year old ‘Young gun’, who was studying a bachelor of property economics, with parents who had been successful property investors also, got an inheritance of ~600k which he ploughed in it’s *entirety* into 3 blocks of land to develop with his brother, who would pay for the buildings.

Now, im new to property investing, and yup, I dont have a degree in property economics, nor do I have parents and mentors who know about property investment. But I cannot understand how he could possibly stick his entire working capital into owning a property outright. Why not use the 600k as deposits for properties that would easily go as high as 2.5million if he was to throw down 25% deposits.

It makes it even more dicey that his finances are bound to that of his brothers which is passed off as a good thing in the article. Many people learn the hard way not to mix business and family/friends.

I just cant understand with his education and family background why he would have done that. Could someone enlighten me?

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Yep simple….SANF (sleep at night factor).

I own ALL my properties outright, are you implying I am equally as stupid??? [blink] With my net worth I could borrow well into the millions, but I choose not to. It is simply a matter of choice.

I will no doubt borrow in the near future (perhaps in the next 5 years) but for now it suits me, and I make enough passive income to not have to incur a debt. I have money invested in other markets and the returns are favourable, hence why bust a boiler???

There is no right or wrong way to invest, it is a matter of individual choice and comfort levels.

Cheers,

Jo